Journal of Graphic Novels and Comics

So. I’m actually quite cross about something.

For my birthday I got a gift subscription to the new Journal of Graphic Novels and Comics. It’s a new academic journal about, well, graphic novels and comics, published by Routledge (Taylor & Francis Group). And yes, I am planning an article submission for this. But anyway.

When the giver asked me what option I wanted for my subscription it was between Print Only ($45) or Print+Online Access ($250ish). I said print only, it was the least expensive. So we went with that….

it FINALLY arrived in the mail yesterday, and I went to look up the web address again so I could pimp it, and I’ll be damned if they didn’t put this, the debut issue, online in its entirity for FREE!!

Angry! If I’d know THAT I wouldn’t have asked for it as a gift! No indication they would do that at all!!

Despite this however, everyone should look at it.

Some of the more interesting looking articles include:

* The sexual identity of superheroes
* Comics as cultural resistance, using V For Vendetta (Alan Moore & David Lloyd, of course)
* The absence of Black supervillains in mainstream comics
* A look at Chester Brown’s Louis Riel

There’s also some reviews of Che by Sid Jacobson & Ernie Colon, and a book of conversations with Art Spiegelman.

And seriously, it probably WILL be worth the $45 I paid in the end. Actual academic looks at comics. Can’t beat that.

Leave a Reply

