** ATYPICAL COMICS ** 2015.02.01 TRANSMISSION **

[NOTE: I just sent this out on my new email newsletter thingy deal. You should subscribe to it as it’s probably going to be updated more than this blog.]

** GEOFFREY D. WESSEL ** ATYPICAL COMICS ** 2015.02.01 TRANSMISSION **

Hey gang. Forgot to do this last week. Had things going on. I still do, but here I am.

** PROJECT UPDATES **

Today saw me wrap up my essay on CEREBUS that I wrote for a book thingy hopefully coming out from Sequart. It wasn’t easy, let me tell you. It’s hard admitting to myself that, at age 42, I now never want to read, ever again, one of the series’ that affected me deeply enough to want to do comics. Not saying I’m abandoning Dave Sim entirely, as we’re still supposed to get THE STRANGE DEATH OF ALEX RAYMOND at some point, but I think the sun has set on my desire to read the aardvark. It’s still quite an accomplishment what Sim and Gerhard did. But I’ve read it in its entirity twice now. I think we’re good, yo.

The penultimate chapter of this serial of SYSTEM S.H.O.C.K. will be out tomorrow at Aces Weekly, as ever. Please take a look at it. There will be more soon.

In other news, despite spending over a year on a project, owing people money for it, signing contracts with people… I am having some real second thoughts about it now. The conversation I mentioned last letter, about non-genre work, has really kind of affected me, and a nudging gentle loving pisstake of the recent Image Expo announcements by Cameron Stewart has really stuck in my craw. To be honest, I’m not sure what I’m going to do. At all. I hate feeling like this.

Oh… and KEEPER Issue 4 will be delayed. Because Carlos Pedro is drawing ELEPHANTMEN #64 from Image Comics. No idea how long it’ll be pushed back tho. Still hoping for a Summer release…

** CULTURAL RAMBLINGS **

It’s Super Bowl Sunday, and for the first time this century I’m not watching it. Haven’t all season, if I’m honest. Personal and political reasons, mostly. The NFL is not an organization I want to support right now, even if I am still a fan of the sport, and one particular team. There are a multitude of reasons for this. Read the news.

I AM A CULTURAL NOSTRADAMUS. Last time, I waxed on about the manga BOKU NO HERO ACADEMIA by Kohei Horikoshi. Now, in tomorrow’s edition of Viz’s digital Shonen Jump, MY HERO ACADEMIA will
premiere. Seriously, get on board with this one. Been the #1 feature in Japanese Jump the last few weeks, and that is decided by democratic vote via reader surveys, so that’s not just hyperbole, it really is striking a chord with readers. Most sincere and earnest superhero stuff in yonks.

The majority of my last few weeks has been spent reading CEREBUS for that article, but I did find time to read Stephen Collins’ wonderful and award-winning THE GIGANTIC BEARD THAT WAS EVIL graphic novel. Liam loved it too, so, y’know. Everyone should read it. I’m currently a quarter of the way through THE WRENCHIES by Farel Dalrymple as well, and the lines and colors are just gorgeous in it. Hoping to make a proper start on THE PERIPHERAL soon too.

THE AMERICANS is back on TV for its third season, which pleases me greatly. There is a bit of fatalism to this series tho – we KNOW the Soviets will fail, and fall, in the end. This premiere episode just had a very brief blip about Leonid Brezhnev’s death, so Andropov and Chernenko won’t be far behind. I’m also starting to enjoy seeing all the actors from OZ propping up. Good stuff, check it ouuuuuut.

** WHERE TO FIND ME **

This is still more or less accurate. I’m creeping back onto Facebook, slowly but surely, but I don’t think it’ll ever be a full return. Anyway, here you are.

– Website: http://gdwessel.com
– Atypical Comics website: http://atypicalcomics.com
– Twitter: @gdwessel or @AtypicalComics
– Facebook: http://facebook.com/gdwessel
– Tumblr: http://gdwessel.tumblr.com
– Instagram: gdwessel
– KEEPER: http://keeper-comic.com

Til next week… watch the skies…

— Geoffrey D. Wessel

Leave a Reply

